Note about Offline usage

DICEFlow application works in Offline mode in both Desktop and Mobile formats. What does that mean? Most of the application usage works offline and the user is expected to sync local changes to the server. User is adequately prompted to sync with visual cues. Please understand the following points w.r.t usage of the application.

What happens during login?

Internet is required for the login (first time and subsequent) process.

  1. User enters the Phone number, Password and if required, Org Code

  2. Post successful authentication, Server prepares data for the logged in user based on assigned Locations for the user in the configuration

  3. Server sends down entire data (Members, Groups, Workflows, User Profile information) to the user's application

  4. Data is loaded into the application and User can now start using the application without being connected to the Internet

Where is my data?

DICEFlow uses the Chrome Web Engine locally to store/manage the data brought down to the application. So, any changes you make to Chrome's data storage might affect the DICEFlow application data. For e.g. if you Clear Site Settings (option in Chrome settings menu on both Mobile and Desktop), you will lose local data. It is critical that user doesn't do such destructive operations on the Chrome browser in Desktop and Android devices.

What can I do offline and for what do I need Internet?

DICEFlow application can be used on the Mobile and Desktop in a completely offline state for most operations except the following:

  1. Login

  2. Sync

  3. Add a User (on Desktop) - need Internet to check applicable license

  4. Fetch Remaining Data - Overtime, users tend to accumulate a lot of data on their phones. To restrict the amount of data, Superuser can set thresholds per Role - This function ignores the threshold (if applied) and brings down all data for the user from the Server

  5. Get clean data - This function helps user to revert the state of local data to a point after last successful sync. As a result, user will lose local changes made since last successful sync

For ALL other operations in the system, Internet is not needed

What happens during sync?

Internet is required for sync process.

  1. When user makes any local changes - for e.g. Update a Member, Continue a Workflow - user is shown a red exclamation mark on the (Desktop/Mobile) Sync buttons prominently - they can click/touch Sync button to push the local changes to the Server;

  2. Sync also brings down changes made by other users on Members, Groups, Workflows assigned to the logged in user